Details on the Vikings vs. Eagles game

December 26, 2010 at 9:44 pm 21 comments

As I’m sure many of you now know, the Vikings vs. Eagles game was shifted from Sunday night to Tuesday evening due to weather concerns. The game was officially changed today at 12:30pm EST and we did what we could to alert people to this postponement. We realize this left people with not much time to change their lineups (or if you played in a league that included the Thursday and Saturday games, you could not make any changes). Here are FanDuel’s official rules on canceled or shifted games from FanDuel’s FAQ page.

If the game is postponed but happens on the same day (for NBA, MLB & NHL or within the game period for NFL) then you will receive points for your players in those games as normal. If a game is postponed to a later date or called off for any reason, any players you have selected for that game will receive zero points. Be sure to check out the schedules (NFL schedule, MLB schedule NBA schedule and the NHL schedule) before you pick players. If game cancellations and/or postponements mean there is only one game left on a particular day, that day’s FanDuel game will be canceled and all entry fees will be refunded.

While we have gotten requests to allow the Tuesday game for scoring purposes, the problem is that we cannot do this. This is because while some people did not make their lineup changes in time, many other people did. If we allow the Tuesday game to be included for scoring purposes, everyone who redid their lineups early this afternoon will have a legitimate complaint, since they followed the postponement rules.

Despite the postponement by the NFL, we must stick by the rules we have created to maintain the fairness of FanDuel’s games.

Entry filed under: Issues.

Win some gold, frankinsense and myrrh this weekend from NFL contests. But mostly gold. All users who entered Eagles vs. Vikings game will be emailed on Wednesday

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. texcobb  |  December 26, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    Then a change needs to be made to allow you to make changes to your lineup for games that were locked two days ago. The game is still being played in the same “game period” for the NFL, that being week 16. The NFL schedule is different from all others as it is a weekly thing and not a daily one. Therin lies your problem. Also the fact that you cordon off the “sunday only” games. It’s a big problem, and I will never again play games where I have to lock in my lineup early like that. Roofs collapse under snow, and mayors shut cities down with little or no warning, and not having the opportunity to alter your lineup once these events transpire is not fair.
    And just so you know, I did not have Michael Vick in any of my starting lineups, I did have DeSean Jackson, but don’t really believe that would have had any bearing on my results, however for those folks who did, I feel like it was an injustice.

    Reply
  • 2. j  |  December 27, 2010 at 12:41 am

    For all those who made bets on Thursday, neither opponent could change their lineup today… so there is no advantage. Min-Phi player points should count for those who made bets on Thursday.
    You make more money from us when we bet early on Thursday but you don’t give us the ability to change our lineups nor do you count a postponed game which the NFL counts as a week 16 game?
    Come Tuesday night you are going to have a lot users watching that game hating Fanduel.
    As long as a postponed game is played before the start of the next NFL week it should count. Change your rules.

    Reply
    • 3. fanduel  |  December 27, 2010 at 6:29 am

      I do think this is a good point for people who made their original picks for leagues that included the Thursday game, as their lineup was set well before this postponement happened. We’re looking at this scenario.

      Reply
    • 4. Preston  |  December 27, 2010 at 3:37 pm

      Well said. I completely agree with this. The Tuesday game should count for all Thursday entries because if the inability to change lineups.

      Reply
  • 5. Rob Peterson  |  December 27, 2010 at 1:44 am

    I understand there are rules in everything we do but there is also a right thing to do. I DO have Vick in my line up and he alone is probably not enough to take me to the top but am concerned as a new player on FanDuel if this is the right site for me to play on. I would be happy with a full or partial credit as the players that did get a chance to adjust their line ups do deserve a fair outcome. Make this right and I will be back.

    Reply
  • 6. Kevin Eudy  |  December 27, 2010 at 2:45 am

    Well if this is the case, I will not be playing on here anymore. It doesn’t matter to me if everyone is getting the same treatment as I am because I could not make changes to my lineup. I have two players in that Philly game and my opponent only has one player from that game. How is it fair for some teams to have more players in their line-ups than others when the players have not missed the game in any way? Its not like I made a risky pick on a player who could possibly miss the game. I had no way of knowing that there was the possibility of a cancellation as that decision was just made today. I think that anyone who paid and was unable to change players based on the sites disallowment of lineup changes should deserve a refund. (It only costs you guys an extra dollar-wow). I can see how it wouldn’t be fair for those who COULD change their line-ups, but I did not receive that opportunity. Bad business if you ask me. I will at least report this for sure if you guys are really saying I am going to lose my money like this… By the way, Vick is the top per game scorer for this site, and a very costly part of that 60,000 limit, I might add as well.

    Reply
  • 7. Matt  |  December 27, 2010 at 4:12 am

    This is absolutely ridiculous. Their is no GOOD or REASONABLE excuse to not include the postponed game for NFL. I understand baseball and basketball are different cases, but football is a week to week game.

    You guys got it WAY WRONG. I want a refund b/c I would not have lost any $ this week if the tuesday game were to count (in almost all likelihood)

    Reply
  • 8. Jeff  |  December 27, 2010 at 6:16 am

    No reason to not include any players points for the Vikings/Eagles game. I have two players from that game. Just assumed the players points would count and never thought to even adjust my lineup. Who is it affecting? Should be the same for everyone.

    Reply
  • 9. fanduel  |  December 27, 2010 at 6:27 am

    Look everyone, the problem is that a lot of people out there did change their lineups before kickoff because of this rule. So if we now allow the Tuesday game to count, then they’ll have an even more legitimate gripe, since we will have disregarded our own rule. We are trying to figure out the best way to resolve this.

    Reply
    • 10. Matt  |  December 27, 2010 at 4:51 pm

      best solution: REFUND!!!

      Reply
  • 11. mclovin3388  |  December 27, 2010 at 7:23 am

    I understand the deliemma, however I am new to Fanduel and have several players affected in 4 of the five games played. Can the games I played be disregarded and my team removed with a credit back to me. Unfortunely, I was not in a position to check the status of the game and quite honestly was not aware of the rule. Can you advise? Thank you

    Reply
  • 12. ME  |  December 27, 2010 at 7:36 am

    A lot of people made changes to their lineup before kickoff because they were on the site and the site gave them a notice to do so. However, I am sure there are equally if not more folks who were not aware that FanDuel was gonna take a different approach this to this weeks postponed game from how they approached last weeks postponed game. Had those people not been on the site and not read the notice, they would have also left their roster as it. In other words, FanDuel should not have notified anyone of the rule. Or FanDuel should have notified everyone of the rule with more effort then a message here on the site. Or if FanDuel had really felt strongly about sticking with their rules, they would have done so last week with the Minnesota game. FanDuel could have even pulled all games with players involved in this game and I am sure site users would not have been as upset as getting 0 points.

    Reply
  • 13. Reb  |  December 27, 2010 at 7:38 am

    I just still don’t agree with the reasoning. I changed my lineup this morning because I saw it might get postponed. I didn’t even fathom that a rule would make the game not count. I changed it some because I didn’t want some of the philly players if the game was played. I didn’t see anything about what would happen, and I doubt if hardly anyone knew the rule, which was clearly made with baseball in mind. Football is different, it is a weekly sport, and this was one of the games this week. I don’t think it would’ve been more unfair to count the Tuesday game. Those teams at least were still able to make a full team.

    Reply
  • 14. Mike D  |  December 27, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    You have received my last deposit. THIS is complete BS. Refund the losing games if you had eagles or vikes. This is completely ridiculous. I checked the homepage prior to gametime and there was NOTHING alerting people. Let the players stand or refund wagers.

    Reply
  • 15. Mike D  |  December 27, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    Let the games where all participants had eagles/vikings play out with tuesday’s game stats included. Also let the games be final for matchups where no players were invloved from eagles/vikings. For the mixed match-ups, just refund the teams their entry fee for anyone that had eagles/vikings and let the other teams scores be final to battle eachother for a smaller payout (in multi team leagues). In head to head where one has eagles/vikings and the other has none, just cancel the matchup. This seems to be the most fair way for everyone including yourselves.

    Reply
  • 16. texcobb  |  December 27, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    i agree with mike D above here. the matchups affected need to be cancelled and all monies returned to both sides. on top, the rules need to be re-vamped in regards to nfl contests. the nfl is a weekly game not a daily one like baseball or basketball.

    Reply
  • 17. condia  |  December 27, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    You should allow MIN@PHI players count towards only the Thursday-Monday matches, as nobody could have predicted on Thursday that a blizzard would postpone the game until Tuesday.

    The game postponement report came out at 12:30pm EST on Sunday, which should have given everybody enough time to change their Sunday-Monday lineups.

    Reply
  • 18. Mike D  |  December 27, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    condia, Just because it was postponed at 12:30, does not mean that everyone had enough time to make changes or even knew that changes had to be made. Everyone isnt glued to their computers on the day after Christmas and I for one looked for an alert about line-ups but did not see any prior to game time. I do agree however that the Thursday people got it worse, nevertheless, we were ALL affected.

    Reply
    • 19. condia  |  December 27, 2010 at 9:21 pm

      The problem with adjusting the games that started on Sunday is that many people read the message that MIN@PHI players would get zero points for the week, so many people edited their lineups for that reason. I initially had players from that game in all of my Sunday-Monday matches, but I edited them because of the notice that was posted on Sunday morning before the early game kickoffs.

      However, there was no possible way to predict this on Thursday, which is why I think only the Thursday-Monday games should allow MIN@PHI players’ points.

      Reply
  • 20. Mike D  |  December 28, 2010 at 2:00 am

    There was just as many people that didnt see a message so those games should just be cancelled as iI said in my first post. If both participants have eagles/vikes guys, let those games play out, if neither had them, let them be final, if it was a one with and one without, cancel those games and give refunds…Fair to everyone.

    Reply
  • 21. Terry  |  December 29, 2010 at 5:23 am

    I guess I should have read the rules better. Why would I have thought a game played on tuesday and counted by the NFL as week 15 would be disallowed by your website.I recieved no notice to make a change.Not getting Vick points cost me the game.I have recommended this game to several friends but after I told them about this they will have nothing to do with your game now.Please credit my remaining balance .You guys SUCK!!! This is total BULLSHIT>

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

FanDuel Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


