FanDuel Fantasy Football Championship – Your 9th Finalist

November 10, 2010 at 11:26 am Leave a comment

Here is your Week 9 FanDuel Fantasy Football Championship finalist – John, a schoolteacher from Michigan. He’s won the 9th of 10 seats at the final table in Las Vegas next month – where he’ll be battling with 9 other finalists for the grand prize of $25,000.

Photo of FFFC Week 9 Winner

"Please Sir, you won how much?"

Name: John Lowery – aka “gladiators

Age: 33

Location: Remus, Michigan

Family: Wife, 3 yr old son and baby daughter

Occupation:  High School Teacher – Computing and Business Studies

So, you won! You must be so pleased! How did it feel?

I was watching the games on TV at home. My brother came over to watch the games with me in my “Guy Zone” (complete with plasma screen and beers!) When the 4pm games started, I told my brother that my FanDuel teams were looking good. I had entered 3 teams in the FFFC.

On Sunday night I couldn’t get to sleep for excitement. There was one guy who had Terrell Owens who jumped to 5th place, but other than him, I was pretty solid on Monday.

What did your family say when you told them about your win?

My wife tried to follow the games because she knew I was doing well. She was really pleased when I’d won and would love to come with me to the final, but because we have a newborn, it’s not looking likely she’ll make it.

What was your winning formula?

I spend about 20 hours per week managing my fantasy teams. I like to pick a set of “studs” – star players that I definitely want to shell out for, then plug the gaps with cheaper players that I think will do well. This week, I decided to go for Peterson, Turner and Rogers with the Green Bay Packers in Defense. The key, though, was picking Ajirotutu – he was cheaper and I knew their main receiving weapon was out. He scored over 100 yards and two touchdowns. The Green Bay Packers scored 28 points – but that was only because Dallas was so terrible.

I watched the FanDuel live scoring so closely from the end of Sunday and all during the Monday game. I needed to be sure that nobody snuck up on me from behind. It was so intense.

Have you won anything like this in the past?

I’ve won a couple of different things in the past. I’ve probably won around $95k through fantasy contests in the past 3 years.

Other than winning, what is the best thing about FanDuel?

I have been very impressed with FanDuel’s customer service. This is something a guy like me looks for in a fantasy sports site. Some sites take 6-8 weeks to process a withdrawal – today I got mine within 15 minutes. I can’t stress enough how impressed I have been with FanDuel.

I’ve thought about the daily concept a lot recently. At one point I told my dad that I’d make more money playing fantasy sports than I would as a teacher. Last year I made twice as much. For anyone who wants to play fantasy to earn a living or as a substantial part of your income, the daily fantasy sports concept is terrific. But it’s also for the casual player who has injuries to his season long team and just wants some fun. FanDuel caters for the casual and the serious player at the same time.

What do you do when you’re not winning fantasy football contests?

I go hunting and fishing when I can. I also enjoy throwing horseshoes and spending time with my kids.

Have you been playing FanDuel long?

I’m new to the daily concept, but I’m definitely interested in playing more. I joined FanDuel a few months ago, but it was only in the summer when I got an email telling me about the FFFC that it really got me interested. I called my brother – who also plays fantasy – right away and told him about it. We put in our time each week, entering several teams in the FFFC every week and finally this week it came through.

Have you been to Las Vegas before?

I’ve been to Vegas about 6 or 7 times before. Twice for fantasy events. I love it there!

If you won the $25,000 in the Grand Final, what would you spend it on?

If I won the grand prize, I’d spend it on remodelling the house – we really need new flooring. And a new car too – I don’t know how much longer mine will last!

DO YOU WANT TO BE THE FIRST EVER

FANDUEL FANTASY FOOTBALL CHAMPION?

ONLY 1 SEAT LEFT IN THE GRAND FINAL.

click here to enter

With a total prize pool of $40,000 plus an expenses paid trip to Vegas and $500 spending money, you’d be crazy not to!

Entry filed under: FFFC.

FanDuel’s Fantasy Football Writers League Week 9 Report: Chet Gresham Does It Again FanDuel’s Fantasy Football Writers League Week 10: Not Quite the End of the Road

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

FanDuel Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


