Cal Spears wins FFFC Week 6, wants to give back winnings!

October 21, 2010 at 1:03 pm 2 comments

Cal Spears
Cal Spears (aka braskey) is our sixth FFFC winner. He’s won $500 cash and an expenses paid trip to Las Vegas to compete for the $25k top prize. But, stop the press, he wants to give his winnings back to you, dear FanDuel users! Well, not all of them. And not yet. But we will be offering you a way to get your hands on some of Cal’s cash. Read on to find out more…

Name: Cal Spears

Age: 29 (will turn 30 the FFFC weekend)

Location: Nashville, TN

Family: Single

Occupation:  Co-Owner of RotoGrinders.com – a community/strategy site dedicated entirely to one-day fantasy games

So, you won! You must be so pleased! How did it feel?

Amazing. I needed 16.22 points from CJ2K on Monday night to win. I felt like I was the favorite but was nervous all day Monday. Then Johnson got bottled up the entire game until that incredibly lucky 4th and 5 30 yard TD. My Monday Night Football experience was 2.5 hours of misery ended abruptly by pure, unadulterated joy. I was with a small group of friends at a sports bar (with the FanDuel leaderboard open, of course) and we went nuts. The FFFC is one of the best promotions in fantasy sports and I’m stoked to be a part of it.

I was glued to the live scores from then on.

What was your winning formula?

Cheap QB vs Houston + Cheap WR1 vs Houston + CJ2K = Las Vegas. Seriously, though, at RotoGrinders.com we discuss FFFC strategy quite a bit on our forums. Last week it was all about Dwayne Bowe and Greg Jennings, two cheap WRs that led me to the jackpot. With those two and Cassel I was able to splurge at the other positions.

Have you won anything like this in the past?

I’m always gambling so I’ve chanced into a few lucky wins in the past. Monday night was very reminiscent of the feeling I had when I won a poker tournament for an Aruba prize package in 2004. I played in a World Poker Tour tournament on that trip but didn’t cash, so I figure I’m due for a cash in the FFFC finale.

Other than winning, what for you is the best thing about FanDuel?

FanDuel’s one-day fantasy game format allows me to treat fantasy sports as a serious profit opportunity. I can easily play more games in one week on FanDuel than I have played season-long fantasy leagues in my entire fantasy history. Like in poker, there will be a small percentage of players that make a ton of money playing these games in the long run. Hopefully I’m one of them! Also, the one day fantasy games are simply more fun to me than poker or sportsbetting.

Have you been to Las Vegas before?

Vegas and me get along pretty well. I was just there in September for the World Championship of Fantasy Football draft. I used to be an avid poker player and co-owner of an online poker community called PocketFives.com, which led me to Vegas many times over the years. I’ll be celebrating my 30th birthday that weekend, strangely enough. I’m planning on flying in early to catch the Celine Dion show. I kid, I’m going to shoot craps and gorge myself at the Wynn Buffet.

If you won the $25,000 in the Grand Final, what would you spend it on?

I’ll give 10% of it back to Fanduel/RotoGrinders.com members! We just worked out a promotion with FanDuel called the FFFC Second Chance Freeroll Tournament. This tournament will take place during week 10 of the NFL season. The winner of this tournament will have 10% of my action in the FFFC final. If I win, the winner gets $2500. If I finish 3rd, the winner gets $500. If I finish out of the money, the winner gets nothing, but it will still be fun to watch! To participate in the freeroll all you have to do is create a RotoGrinders.com account, tell us your FanDuel Screen Name, and then post at least one victory in a football game between now and Week 10. More details to come!

Week 7 of the FFFC is now open for team selection –click here to get your picks in now.

What would you do with $25,000?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

NFL Fantasy Stock Up/Stock Down Report: Week 7 Expert fantasy advice on who to pick for your Week 7 NFL games

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cameron  |  October 21, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    Congrats again Cal! We’re looking forward to running this promotion with FanDuel! Email me or visit the site if you have any questions!

    -Cameron
    Head Content Manager
    RotoGrinders.com

    Reply
  • […] Spears – one of the 10 finalists here in Vegas (you can read more about him here) – took the time to speak with us today in Las Vegas. Cal’s had the FFFC on his mind […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

FanDuel Twitter updates


