Construction professional, whits23, from Georgia is latest FFFC Winner

October 12, 2010 at 10:08 pm Leave a comment

Whits23 - he's a pussy cat really. No, really!

You’ve probably seen whits23 on FanDuel. He’s been around a while now, in fact he calls himself a “FanDuel veteran”. And his knowledge of FanDuel has certainly paid off. He’s just won $500, an expenses paid trip to Vegas and a chance to win up to $25,000 in the FanDuel Fantasy Football Championship live final in December.”

Whits23, aka William W. works in construction, is from Georgia and for all the fierceness of his photo, he was a great guy to chat with. Here’s more…

Name: William W

Age: 49

Occupation: Safety Professional in Construction

Location: Georgia

Family: Wife, 2 boys age 14 & 11

So, you won! You must be so pleased! How did it feel?

It was certainly a rollercoaster. I had quite a few entries in this week, so I spent my time trying to figure out how each of them were doing, where they were placing. Suddenly during the late game on Sunday, one of them started to rocket upwards. And during the 4th quarter of the Cowboys v Titans game, it moved into first place.

What did your family say when you told them about your win?

I was watching the games with my family, the boys were playing computer games and neither my wife nor my kids are into fantasy in any way. It’s just that dumb thing dad does on his computer. So when I told them I thought I was going to win, they ignored me. I’d actually told them that last week, and the week before…so I guess no wonder they didn’t believe me!

But when I actually won, they weren’t even too bothered. They play a lot of sport and they win a lot of things, so it was no big deal to them! My wife was pretty excited though.

What was your winning formula?

I have to admit, I have a pretty poor strategy when I’m playing fantasy football. I like to pick players from games I know will be on TV, it just makes watching football so much more fun.

My key players were Eli Manning and Hakeem Nicks. And obviously the Johnsons too. I know nobody cares about the kickers, but my kicker did good too, Josh Scobee.

Have you won anything like this in the past?

Nothing like this. I play in about 12 money leagues on CBS every year and have won a few of those in the past, but nothing major. This year I wanted to take fantasy more seriously and see if I could actually win some proper money at it.

Other than winning, what was the best thing about the FFFC?

The best thing about FFFC and FanDuel in general is the rollercoaster ride it takes you on. It’s got way more ups and downs than the regular season games, it’s like the whole season wrapped up in one day. It’s just bulging with excitement.

What do you do when you’re not winning fantasy football contests?

I coach football and baseball and watch my sons play sports.

Have you been playing FanDuel long?

I joined in April this year, so around 6 months.

Have you been to Las Vegas before?

No, never. I’m really excited about going, but I’m worried I’m going lose more money gambling than I win in the FFFC! Ha ha!

If you won the $25,000 in the Grand Final, what would you spend it on?

I would spend it on a fund for school sports for my kids. It’s madly expensive. [correction: of course he didn’t say “Other than more tattoos”, he said “Other than taxes”. Sorry whits!]

Anything else you’d like to share?

I just want to let people know that if someone like me can win this, anyone can!

Week 6 of the FFFC is now open for team selection – click here to get your picks in now.

What would you do with $25,000?

Entry filed under: FFFC.

FanDuel’s Fantasy Football Writers League Week 5 Report: Matt Ufford leaves no margin for error “The Fantasy Consultant” Proves He’s Worth His Salt

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

FanDuel Twitter updates


