Daniel W from Atlanta steals the #2 seat in the Vegas Final

September 21, 2010 at 9:57 pm 4 comments

Daniel W

Daniel - "My cheeks hurt from smiling so much"

Daniel W from Atlanta, Georgia is the latest winner of the FanDuel Fantasy Football Championship weekly qualifiers. He’s won a trip to Las Vegas and $500 spending money and is gunning for the $25k top prize on December 5th in the FFFC live final.

A relative newcomer to FanDuel, Daniel entered 3 teams in the FFFC this week and not only won the top prize of the week, but also came third! I gave him a call tonight to find out more about his winning strategies.

Name: Daniel W (aka dbird731)

Age: 38

Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Family: Wife, 4 kids

Occupation:  Medical Retirement from the Navy

So, you won! You must be so pleased! How did it feel?

Yes, it was totally amazing to have won. My heart was racing the whole time. My cheeks are sore from smiling so much! I was nervous, excited, my heart was in my mouth and I was jumping around the lounge yelling. My wife thought I was crazy! Just wonderful.

It’s the most exciting fantasy game I’ve played – and I play a lot of them. You never know until the games are over whether you’ve won – there was only 1 point in it at the end. I was hopping back and forth between games, from the NFL channel back to my laptop. I was 1st and 2nd for a while, until Reggie Wayne scored and one of my teams moved to third. Sunday night was so nerve-racking, but by the end of the games, I pretty much knew I won so Monday was less intense.

Have you won anything like this in the past?

I won a $25,000 prize on another site last year. I entered the FFFC last week, but didn’t do so well at all. The competition was good – there are a lot of people thinking a lot. But I was the only person in the top ten who had DeSean Jackson. But even last week when I wasn’t winning, I was totally excited, and beat myself up about dumb decisions afterwards.

Have you told your friends/family about your win? What did they say?

My wife was thrilled. She just couldn’t believe it and couldn’t sleep afterwards. She was on Facebook at 1am telling everyone about it, texting people and waking them up! She thinks I’m the best fantasy player ever! My kids are age 15, 9, 8 and 2 and they’re all into sports too so they were really impressed.

Other than winning, what was the best thing about the FFFC?

It makes me so PUMPED! It makes football more than just football. The whole concept of FanDuel makes me so competitive – it’s a bit like chess, out-thinking your opponent. Proving that you’re smarter than them. I knew everyone would draft Mike Vick this week after his performance last week, but it’s about thinking differently and finding the perfect sleeper. I do a lot of research on match-ups and play the game scenarios out in my head before I pick. The games all went according to my plan! You do have to take some risks, it’s too easy just to pick a Tom Brady, you can’t just draft an all-star team.

You entered 3 teams in the FFFC this week – how were they different?

I had the same players on both my winning teams except for my Wide Receivers. I wasn’t sure between Roddy White and Miles Austin, so I entered them both in different teams. And I thought Reggie Wayne might also be good, so I drafted him in another team. Maurice Jones-Drew was disappointing and messed it up for a lot of people. Pinpointing the second running back was key.

What do you do when you’re not winning fantasy football contests?

I play all kinds of fantasy other than football – NASCAR, Golf, baseball, basketball. It just makes sports more fun!

How did you find out about FanDuel?

Before the start of the football season each year, I just Google to see what’s out there for fantasy football games. I like variety, so I usually play on a lot of other sites, but FanDuel is the best fantasy game on the planet! The others are just same old same old. FanDuel is different – the skill is in the Salary Cap, it’s a totally different way of playing Fantasy Football and I love it!

Have you been playing FanDuel long?

I just started this season.

Have you been to Las Vegas before?

I’ve been once before, and am going again with my wife next month for our anniversary.

If you won the $25,000 in the Grand Final, what would you spend it on?

I’ll use it for my son’s college education. He’s the first from our family out of high school.

Week 3 of the FFFC is now open for team selection – click here to get your picks in and you could be joining Dave and Daniel in Vegas to battle it out for the $25,000.

Entry filed under: FFFC.

FanDuel’s Fantasy Football Writers League Week 2 Report: Chet Gresham of Razzball Takes The Lead FFFC Week 3 Monday Update

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Justin  |  September 23, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    Usually I hate whoever wins because they aren’t me, but Daniel seems pretty awesome. Congrats.

    Reply
  • 2. Jason  |  September 23, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Congrtas man, and good luck at the finals in Vegas!

    Reply
  • 3. Erin  |  September 24, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    I played for the first time last week and I was sitting in 7th place late Sunday night. I noticed Daniel KILLING IT in 1st & 2nd. Then all of a Sudden Peyton decided to hit Wayne instead of Clark for a TD. Fortunately for Daniel he only lost his 2nd place position but I got knocked down to 11th by .30 points and thats how I finished week 2. Damn you Peyton!! Not bad for 1st time and only one team. Way to go Daniel congrats.

    Reply
  • […] Wilder, whose story you can read here, met us today for an interview to discuss the FanDuel Fantasy Football Championship. Daniel is one […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

FanDuel Twitter updates


